DIY

How to make your own jump rings.

I don’t know about you, but I hate when I’m in a creative mood (rarely) and don’t have an element to finish my piece.

So, I think it’s imperative to learn how to make your own findings, ear wires and pendants.

20 gauge wire

OK, #1 Grab some wire. Above is 20 gauge, which is pretty thick, but it’s what I had on hand. You might want to use 22 or 24 gauge. I get the wire above from Michaels and, it’s hard to tell from the photo, but it’s PINK !!!

2 – Wrap the wire around a pencil several times, shown below: , then slide off.

#3 Cut the wire at the same spot. You may have to pull back and only cut one or two at a time, as I did.

Wire and cutter

And voila! We have jump rings! They’re really nice for adding that rustic, organic, one of a kind feel to your pieces. That’s why people come to #Etsy, I think.

Handmade

Please see more at my shop.

.

Leave a Reply

