Waiting

Waiting. I’m at Kennedy Krieger with my son and we’re doing it right now. We do a lot of that with our special needs children.

My son sees a pediatrician, neurologist, orthopod, occupational therapist, physical therapist, nurse practitioner, dentist every three months, and when needed, an orthotist for leg braces (AFO’s). He grows out of those once or twice a year. He also goes to hippotherapy weekly, when we have funding for it.

image

How do we stand it? I try to think of it as some quiet time, even if I’m feeding or changing Chance at the same time. Also, sometimes if my husband or other children are with us, we might stop for lunch on the way home. It gives me something to look forward to. Plus, there’s always people-watching, which I enjoy.

image

I can’t even begin to figure out how many hours we’ve waited for  doctors/appointments during his lifetime. Let me do a little math (ugh) here. At a very conservative estimate of waiting 30 minutes for an appointment twice a month, that’s 180 hours I’ll never get back.  Of course, that doesn’t include ER visits or in-hospital stays. And the driving! Don’t get me started on all the driving! That will be a whole other blog.

Peace out. 😎

Leave a Reply

